A Sign of How Much You Love Your Dogs

A Sign of How Much You Love Your Dogs

Nicknames are a sign of affection in most cultures. I just got back from a 6-week trip to the US. I’m rarely away from my dogs for that long and I realized just how many names I call them during our conversations. As a solitary writer, I speak to my dogs more than anyone. If the amount of Spanglish and other assorted nicknames is any indication of how much I love them, I love them muchísimo. Here’s a list of them so far.

(more…)

SICK Part III Release News (plus Cover Reveal!)

SICK Part III Release News (plus Cover Reveal!)

It’s official! Yesterday, after a grueling eight straight hours of revisions, I delivered SICK Part III to my courageous editor, Candace Johnson. This book put me through a painful labor. I began writing it almost one year ago. It think it was more difficult than the first two parts of the series for several reasons.

  1. I wanted to create an epic ending for my readers.
  2. I wanted to create an epic ending for myself.
  3. I wanted to give my characters the finale they deserved.
  4. I wanted the story to have depth and meaning.
  5. Life got in the way of writing.

I plan to put SICK Part III on preorder for 1/2 price by the end of the week.

The official release date will be in the middle of April 2017.

Join my author mailing list
to be notified as soon as it’s available for the preorder discount.
CLICK HERE.

Thanks to everyone for being so supportive and patient. I don’t think SICK fans will be disappointed!

I’ve left you a little draft of the cover to get you in the mood. I’d love to know what you think of it.

SICK Part III Release

Guess Who’s On Board!

Guess Who’s On Board!

I know my blog has sucked lately. You’re all very nice about it, but it’s true. And the third part of SICK is two months past my planned publication date. No writing, no revising, no blogging. The reason why I’m so busy is problem I’m very blessed to have. I have more work than I can handle, and more and more comes my way everyday.

Five years ago I started freelancing in web design and social media marketing. What began as a part time gig for extra Christmas money has now developed into a full-grown business. I am bursting at the seams and it’s time to get some help, so I’m thrilled to announce that my sister Gina has begun training as my first digital marketing protege!

I’m so grateful to have her help and I know everyone will love working with her. 2016 is galloping away and I have so many great plans for the future. I’m so glad I have someone on my team, especially my sister. Next in line for training is my baby sister, Tia. Then we’ll have the sister trifecta. Look out!

Not only am I training my sisters how to work and thrive in this creative and free lifestyle, I’m going to teach anyone who wants to learn. The demand for content management and social media marketing is exploding, and I’m developing a digital marketing course that covers all facets in an easily digestible format. You can learn more about the course and sign up for an invitation to the FREE beta-version here.

I’m also creating a course specifically for authors that includes my hacks and secrets to managing effective social media strategy without it consuming your writing time. You can get early access to that by signing up for Digital Marketing Mastery for Authors.

Last but not least, SICK Part III will be going out to my beta-reading crew  next month (I hope) and then to my wonderful editor, Candace at Change it Up Editing. I even have plans to unearth my drafts of The Sculptor Series for release, and I’m itching to start blogging regularly again.

Thanks so much for staying subscribed to this blog through the thick and thin. There’s lots to come next year, so stay tuned! XOXOXO

 

 

3 Independent Authors You Must Read Now

3 Independent Authors You Must Read Now

Originally Published on https://josephsale.wordpress.com

Hello everyone,

We live in a world of big brands, big names and celebrities, as is so wryly satirised in Ben Elton’s most recent comedy gold: Upstart Crow. In some ways, we have always had this culture. The gladiators of ancient Rome were much like the Olympic athletes we worship today. The Forum philosophers were no different to the TV personalities we watch now, offering advice on everything from sex to home-improvement.

But, the difference between our world and the ancient one (even going back only a hundred years or so) is saturation. There are simply so many more people than there used to be.

How then, can we find the gold, when everyone has a blog, everyone has a self-published book or song or film, and everyone is crying out to have their voices heard? It’s not easy, but one way is through simple recommendation. Who is being recommended and who isn’t? And who are people being recommended by?

This last part is so key. Many people I know blindly will buy anything which makes the Man Booker longlist, but really, only certain types of novel ever make it to that list, and often, they are books which are current with a particularly pertinent political or sociological theme. I’m not knocking that, but for me, timeless insight into humanity (I’m quoting Ben Elton again) is always preferable to a clever current opinion.

So, we all know who the big names are, but who are the smaller voices, no less valuable, no less insightful, but perhaps not as public as they might have been where they born 200 years earlier?

Here’s my list of 3 AWESOME independent authors, writing in a variety of genres, who I believe are worth your time and money and commitment. Please, take my recommendation and check out their stuff. Most of it is beyond reasonable in price – and all of it is excellent.

(in no particular order)

MOIRA KATSON

Recommended Title: Remnant (Book 2 of Crucible Series)

I became aware of Moira Katson’s work after discovering she had worked on City of the Shrouda strategic video-game set in a fantasy universe. Her narrative was intriguing, complex and felt fresh, especially in a genre in which story is often put to one side. It was then I discovered her range of novels; I picked up Remnant (she recommended it for me) and was simply blown away by the pathos of it. She writes with a sure hand, offering immense insight into the emotional worlds of her characters. Always psychologically real, always exciting and focused, her narratives explode (sometimes literally) with surprises. Full of twists and sensitive prose which slowly seeps into your heart, she is one for anyone who loves SCI-FI or FANTASY with real human dimensions to it.

Twitter: @moirakatson

CHRISTA WOJCIECHOWSKI

Recommended Title: Sick (Book 1 of the SICK Series)

Christa’s Sick series is incredible, and showcases her amazing feeling for character voice. Never a line out of place, an action out of sync, or an erroneous thought to be found. Like a method actor, she seemingly becomes her characters, rendering their voices in methodical prose which ensnares you. Her feeling for voice and character soliloquy never detracts from her sense of pace, however; her novels are dynamic and full of action. What’s more, she knows how to build and turn a twist, and even better, to impart the reader with Shakespearean dramatic irony. For anyone who likes PSYCHOLOGICAL HORROR in the vein of King’s Misery and Finder’s Keepers, then Christa is the one for you!

Twitter: @christawojo

MICHAEL BRAY

Recommended Title: At the Edge of Night

I first became aware of Michael Bray when my story appeared alongside his in Dark Hall Press’s Technological Horror Anthology. I quickly realised that the energy and feeling of his prose set him apart, as well as his certain exploration of extreme human emotions: fear, desperation, suicidal depression, feverish madness, longing. Rather than coming across as cartoonish or exaggerated, as they often do in the hands of amateurs, these states are presented with subtlety and depth and speak to true human experience. This is, perhaps, Michael’s greatest strength and why his novels are becoming more and more widely read.

Mesmerising prose, fantastic characterisation and intriguing explorations of humanity’s underbelly: all good reasons to go for Michael Bray. I’m a particular fan of his short fiction, and hence, have recommended his 28 story collection At the Edge of Night. 

Twitter: @michaelbrayauth

I hope you all enjoyed this list. Please, let me know if there is anyone you would add to it. Let’s build a network of people, all sharing awesome innovative new fiction. It’s not about being hipster, it’s about finding what we like in a world where it’s hard to do that (because there is so much to find). I’d love to hear your thoughts on the above list and your own favourite independents.

As always, you can follow me @josephwordsmith, where I’m pretty chatty, and tweet aLOT about 2000AD.

Have a great week peeps!

Author Q & A on Chat About Books

Chat About Books.jpg

I stopped by Chat About Books with Kerry Parsons and answered a few questions about my writing process, naming characters, and other ramblings. Please check it out and subscribe to Chat About Books. If you’re an author or publisher who would like her to review a book or feature you on Chat About Books, I’ll leave all her links at the bottom of this post.

(more…)

My Author Interview at @JeriWB's Word Bank

http---static.ow.ly-photos-normal-eQKqE.jpg

Hello friends and readers. I’m back from my trip. It was a sad homecoming because my feathered child, Querido the parrot, died before I returned from Florida. I’ll write more about her later this week. The pain is still too fresh.

DSC09947

In the meantime, pop on over to Jeri WB’s blog today to read an interview I did with her about reading, writing, and marketing.

This is only my second interview ever (this was my first), and I still feel very awkward when talking about myself and my work. I’d love to know what you think, and if you have any interview tips for me.

#HappyThanksgiving #BRB!

2015-11-16 12.08.42

Hey guys! Sorry I haven’t been posting and responding to comments lately. I have been traveling with the rest of the Wojo’s. We went to the Bahamas and I’ll be spending turkey day with the family in Florida. I’ll be back to my normal shenanigans next week. I’m very anxious to get back to writing my sequel to SICK. I also found out I have a sick parrot at home. I’m so worried about her and powerless to help from here. If anyone knows anything about birds, please leave me a message in the comment section. I suspect it’s a Giardia infection, but local vets don’t treat birds in Boquete. I’m desperate!

Other than that, I’m very grateful to be with my loved ones. I just want to wish you all a wonderful Thanksgiving. I hope you eat and drink too much. Cheers! See you all next week 10 pounds heavier 😀